Return to the News page

Posted January 31, 2006


Amanda Kay Erekson, Executive Transition Committee member; Operations Manager;
Joe Sakay, Esq., Acting Chair, Executive Transition Committee; Board Member;


(Seattle) The MAVIN Foundation has reopened its search for qualified applicants to fill the role of Executive Director. Last fall, MAVIN founder/president Matt Kelley announced his intent to step down at the end of January 2006. In response, the Foundation's Board of Directors assembled an Executive Transition Committee (ETC) comprised of Board, staff and community volunteer representatives.

A national search yielded a strong pool of applicants from across the nation. Applicants represented a diverse cross-section of personal and professional backgrounds. Due to the position's importance, however, the ETC has elected to reopen the process for one month to encourage additional excellent candidates to come forward.

"MAVIN's next executive director must provide superb leadership at a critical juncture for the organization, as well as for the greater mixed heritage community," says Joe Sakay, the ETC's Acting Chair and MAVIN Foundation Board member. He continues, "We are extending the search to ensure that we conduct an exhaustive selection process."

Qualified candidates must submit their application no later than February 28, 2006, although the Committee will review applications on a rolling basis. To support the process, MAVIN Foundation's current president, Matt Kelley, has agreed to stay on in his current capacity until the end of February.

Download a PDF version of the Job Description
and Position Announcement.

MAVIN Foundation builds healthy communities that celebrate and empower mixed heritage people and families. Since 1998, MAVIN has invested over $2.5 million into innovative and award-winning projects focused on mixed heritage people, transracial adoptees and multiracial families. For more information, visit

For more information, email Amanda or call 206 622 7101.


Want to support our innovative and award-winning programs? Click here to make an online donation.

The MAVIN Foundation Executive Transition Committee (ETC)

Kelly Bates, Esq. (Chair)

Joseph A. G. Sakay, Esq. (Acting-Chair)

Lisette Austin, MA

Sashya Clark, MSW

Amanda Kay Erekson

Mariya Rubbelke, MBA PHR